Virgin Atlantic to join SkyTeam in early 2023
Airlines Flying Frequent Flyer Programme

Virgin Atlantic To Join SkyTeam Alliance as its only UK Member Airline in early 2023

Virgin Atlantic will join the SkyTeam global alliance in early 2023. The UK airline will be SkyTeam’s first and only UK member airline. It will enhance the alliance’s transatlantic network and services to and from Heathrow and Manchester Airport.

Customers will have more opportunities to earn and redeem miles, with access to an extensive global route network of over 1,000+ destinations as well as access to a network of 750+ airport lounges across six continents.

Virgin Atlantic Silver Card holders will be recognised as SkyTeam Elite Members, whilst Gold Card members will become Elite Plus. Members will enjoy benefits such as priority check-in, baggage handling and boarding.

Virgin Atlantic’s entry into the alliance builds upon the success of its transatlantic joint venture partnership with Delta Air Lines and Air France-KLM, each already long established SkyTeam members. The four partners are co-located at London Heathrow’s Terminal Three, alongside existing SkyTeam members Aeromexico and China Eastern, providing customers with smooth airside transits and the most convenient connections times possible.

Virgin Atlantic flies to 12 destinations throughout the USA in partnership with Delta and Air France-KLM including New York, Los Angeles, Miami, and San Francisco.  In May, the airline launched a brand-new service to Austin, Texas and will start daily flights to Tampa, Florida from November. Virgin Atlantic also operates an extensive Caribbean portfolio including Antigua, Barbados, Jamaica, and The Bahamas.  Virgin Atlantic also operates services to Greater China, India, Israel, Nigeria, Pakistan, and South Africa.

SkyTeam members, Delta, Air France and KLM are already collocated at Virgin Atlantic’s home base at London Heathrow Terminal 3. Virgin Atlantic operates long-haul services from UK regional airports including Edinburgh and Manchester. The airline offers a comprehensive network to North America and the Caribbean in partnership with Delta Air LinesAir France and KLM, and also operates services to Greater China, Israel, Nigeria, Pakistan and South Africa.

Codeshare agreements are already in place with Aeromexico and Middle East Airlines with options for more codeshares to follow. Interline agreements with all SkyTeam members are already in place, providing one touch point for all customers, creating a seamless journey on one ticket.

Current SkyTeam members include Aerolineas Argentinas, Aeromexico, Air Europa, Air France, China Airlines, China Eastern, Czech Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Garuda Indonesia, ITA Airways, Kenya Airways, KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, Korean Air, Middle East Airlines, Saudia, TAROM, Vietnam Airlines, and XiamenAir.

Feature photo credit: SkyTeam

One Comment

  1. Pingback: Changi loses Skytrax Best Airport in The World Title to Hamad International Airport |

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.